I Switched to Flamingo

One of the most interesting aspects of Android is without a doubt the ability to customize your device endlessly through the use of apps. The platform allows for individuality and freedom as opposed to other operating systems. With that said Flamingo is one of those apps that allows you to flaunt your individuality and be proud to be an Android user.

There are several third-party Twitter applications for Android that are established and Flamingo is on route to joining those apps. By no means is this a brand new twitter client but it isn’t as well known as others and I find that to be semi-problematic. Flamingo has been on the Google Play Store for a few months and when it was first in beta I stumbled across it but I didn’t put much thought into exploring it. At the time I was happily using the official Twitter application with little issue so it didn’t make sense to me to pay 99 cents for an unfinished app that was under construction and lacked many of the useful features that I used to use. I ended up using the official twitter app for some time after my discovery of Flamingo and it wasn’t until recently that I decided to switch things up. The reason being because I began to have several issues with the official Twitter app and updates weren’t fixing these issues. Finding myself to be completely infuriated by Twitter I searched for a replacement app to calm my frustration and that’s when I remembered Flamingo. Fast forward a few months and the app is completed and it has a price increase.

The app just like other third-party Twitter clients takes advantage of a clean interface and minimal design. It’s visually appealing to the eye and the animations within the app are smooth and satisfying. In terms of customization, the app lets you modify the entire layout to suit your preferences and it’s a nice change from the original Twitter app. Flamingo strays away from Twitter when it comes to design and it implements nontraditional color schemes based off of your profile picture and header. Not only that but you’re also able to change the color scheme and font color on top of changing the layout. Compared to Twitter it’s a new and pleasing experience that you most likely wouldn’t expect. With all the good that accompanies this app, it’s necessary to point out the bad as well.

The largest drawback of using this third party Twitter app is that lack of features that you normally receive with the official Twitter app. Once I made the switch to Flamingo it was off-putting to realize that I was missing a few beloved features that I found on my previous app. Over time and with future updates I believe this will change and so far that has been the case with recent updates to Flamingo. 

Truthfully Flamingo is an alternate twitter application that I would gladly recommend to any Android user searching for something different than the conventional means. It provides a clean look and creative option to Twitter that becomes instant eye candy at a first glance. I would encourage you to check it out and I believe it’s well worth its price.

Pros

  • Clean and minimal interface
  • Customization options
  • Great color scheme
  • Cheaper than rival Twitter clients
  • Only 10,000 downloads (Presently)
  • Top developer
  • Quick, light, snappy

Cons

  • Price $2.49
  • Lack of features found on official Twitter app

Author of Article: Mekhi Greene

Contact: Productihq@gmail.com

Developer: Sam Ruston

Flamingo: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.samruston.twitter&hl=en

Leave a Reply

